What are the Island Games?

History of the Island Games

The International Island Games was born in the Isle of Man in 1985. iiga

The idea was to provide an opportunity for hundreds of young sportsmen and women from small island communities, to compete and enjoy international competition against other islanders. The unique sporting event, offers opportunities for cultural exchange and social interaction.

The Festival was such a success that it was agreed to continue it every other year, with Guernsey hosting the Games in 1987.


About the Island Games

The NatWest International Island Games are a biannual multisport event, usually taking place in June or July, which welcomes a total of 24 islands from across the world. Following months of rigorous training, between 2,000 and 4,000 athletes are put to the test over a week of events as competitors swim, shoot, sprint and swing their way to victory. From target and endurance events to team sports such as football, basketball and volleyball, the Games holds competitions in a diverse range of sports.

The Games welcomes spectators at all events, giving host islanders an exciting opportunity to watch live international sport on their home turf.

Games athletes perform to an exceptional standard with a number of previous gold medal winners becoming elite international champions and competing at a number of Olympic and Commonwealth Games. Every Games is a chance for talented young islanders to follow in their footsteps, inspired by the journeys of previous International Island Games athletes.

But the NatWest International Island Games isn’t all about scoreboards and medals. It’s a chance for thousands of young people from islands across the world to explore new places and cultures, share unforgettable experiences and form lasting friendships.

In striving to achieve sporting excellence, all Games competitors—as well as their coaches, managers and supporters—help us foster and strengthen our core values of sportsmanship and fair play.

For more information on the NatWest International Island Games please visit www.iiga.org

The current membership of the IIGA is as follows:

Åland Gotland Orkney
Alderney Greenland Saaremaa
Bermuda Guernsey Sark
Cayman Islands Hitra Shetland
Falkland Islands Isle of Man St Helena
Faroe Islands Isle of Wight Western Isles
Frøya Jersey Ynys Môn
Gibraltar Menorca